Search This Blog

Monday, April 27, 2009

Football: Six Honored For Academics

Football News

Football: Six Honored For Academics
By Mike Montoro for
April 27, 2009

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – Six West Virginia University football players were named to the Hampshire Honor Society, announced by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Reed Williams (LB), Tito Gonzales (WR), Adam Hughes (LS), Dorrell Jalloh (WR), Pat Liebig (DL), Doug Slavonic (DL) and Ryan Stanchek (OL) were selected for membership in the 2009 class.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 grade point average or better. A total of 564 players from 266 schools qualified for membership in the society’s third year, a 27 percent increase from the 2008 class.

The National Honor Society becomes the latest component of the organization's efforts to promote combined athletic and academic success. Launched in 1959 with a donation from Hall of Fame coach Earl "Red" Blaik, the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Awards program became the first initiative in history to credit a player for his combined academic success, football performance and community leadership.

Bobby Hathaway (LB), Marc Magro (LB) and Ryan Mundy (DB) were selected to the Honor Society in 2008, and Dan Mozes (OL) and Jay Henry (LB) were named to the inaugural 2006 class.

No comments:

Walrus Archive