Search This Blog

Tuesday, March 07, 2006

Redick And WillIams Earn ACC Player of the Year Awards

Redick And WillIams Earn ACC Player of the Year Awards
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information

Release: 03/07/2006

Send this article to a friend

Courtesy: Duke

DURHAM, N.C. - Duke's J.J. Redick was named the ACC Player of the Year while Shelden Williams was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year Tuesday in a vote by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Both Redick and Williams repeat their honors from a season ago as the announcement comes on the heels of the duo being named first team All-ACC Monday.

Redick received all but three votes and repeats as the ACC Player of the Year becoming just the second Blue Devil and 10th player in the history of the ACC to accomplish that feat. Redick joins Tim Duncan (Wake Forest, 1997, '98); Danny Ferry (Duke, 1988, '89); Len Bias (Maryland, 1985, '86); Ralph Sampson (Virginia, 1981, '82, '83); David Thompson (N.C. State, 1973, '74, '75); John Roche (South Carolina, 1969, '70); Larry Miller (North Carolina, 1967, '68); Len Chappell (Wake Forest, 1961, '62) and Dickie Hemric (Wake Forest, 1954, '55) as multiple winners of the ACC Player of the Year award.

Other Duke winners of the Player of the Year award are Art Heyman (1963), Jeff Mullins (1964), Steve Vacendak (1966), Mike Gminski (1979), Danny Ferry (1988 & 1989), Christian Laettner (1992), Grant Hill (1994), Elton Brand (1999), Chris Carrawell (2000), Shane Battier (2001) to go along with Redick's awards in 2005 and '06.

Williams repeats as Defensive Player of the Year and received all but four votes as teammate Sean Dockery earned one of vote, as well. The 2006 voting for Defensive Player of the Year marks just the second time the ACSMA voters have selected a top defender.

Also voted on was the Rookie of the Year as UNC's Tyler Hansbrough was a unanimous selection while Roy Williams won Coach of the Year honors. Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski was second in the voting for coach of the year.

Duke returns to the court at the 2006 ACC Tournament and will play the winner of Thursday's Miami-Clemson game on Friday at 12 p.m. ET.

No comments:

Walrus Archive